Ethics Committee

Chair –  Kristene Gugliuzza, M.D.

University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston


  • Charles Ferguson, M.D., Massachusetts General Hospital
  • Tom Brothers, M.D., MUSC
  • Debra Koivunen, M.D., University of Missouri-Columbia
  • IIan Rubinfeld, M.D., Henry Ford Hospital, MI
  • Mike Holman, M.D., Harrisburg Hospital

Charge to the Ethics Committee

  • Examine the relationship between pharmaceutical companies and surgical residency programs.
  • Publish guidelines to enable surgical residency programs to deal with industry representatives in an ethical way.
  • Specifically work to establish certain tools that will enable residency programs to effectively educate their residents in professionalism.
  • Compromise the committee with members from university, hybrid, and community programs.